The Brighter Side

So, I rarely ever get political. My grandmother always told me to stay out of politics. This is not meant to offend anyone but rather point out the positivity in a time that is so focused on the negatives.

There is this show that I am sure everyone knows about called Boy Meets World. Disney has decided to remake the show using a second generation, Girl Meets World. Yes, this show is meant for a younger audience but recently I have come to find that anyone can take away a message from it.

So here I am at 1:30 in the morning in the middle of a breakthrough. In the episode, the kids had an assignment where they had to find out about their heritage. The main character Riley was upset that her heritage was several generations of plain old Americans. I used to feel the same way about my heritage. I never knew exactly where my family came from but it was clear to see that I came from a long line of Americans. I used to think that this was boring. That there was nothing cool or exciting about America. I was jealous that other cultures had an interesting history. And then recently after the election I became ashamed of my country for letting things get this bad.

This episode has made me realize that there is a lot more to America. Our culture isn’t all about the past but it is about the now. Although I disagree with a lot that is going on right now, it is not what defines America. I am proud of the Americans that stand up for what they believe in. we are resilient and that is what America is about. We need challenges and obstacles so that we can see how strong we are together. Without these setbacks, we wouldn’t know who we are or what we are capable of.

I sometimes think about when I am older and have a family what I might say to my kids when asked about their heritage. I thought of how I would never want my kids raised in a country that would allow hatred to define who we are but now I know that that is not the story I would be telling them. I would tell the about the people who fought with everything that they had for a better future. I would tell them about all the different cultures that the country.

The episode showed me that it is too easy to sit back and point out the flaws in something that is broken. America is far from perfect but that is exactly why we need to fight for what is right so that one day we can tell the story of our culture with pride rather than shame.

I don’t know if anyone actually reads these but I hope whoever you are that you have a bit more positivity in your life. We shouldn’t focus on the negatives, it only feeds into the hate of others. Remember to always look for the bright side of things. No matter what is going on in the country or the world no one can take away your happiness but you.

Leave a Reply

